2022 Board Members

Elected Officers

President
Dr. Anton Sumali
Sandia National Laboratories
January 2022-December 2022
president@nmas.org

President-Elect
Dr. Babu Chalamala
Sandia National Laboratories
January 2022-December 2022
president-elect@nmas.org

Vice President
Director, Community Relations 

Dr. Diane Peebles
Sandia National Laboratories
January 2022-December 2023
vice-president@nmas.org

Treasurer
Dr. Debra N. Thrall
Science Educator (Retired)
January 2022-December 202
treasurer@nmas.org

Secretary
Malva Knoll
Science Educator (Retired)
January 2021-December 2022
secretary@nmas.org

Past President
Gretchen Gürtler
Ghost Ranch
January 2022-December 2022
past-president@nmas.org

Director-at-Large, NYSC Director
Margaret Showalter
Science Educator
January 2020-December 2022
nysc@nmas.org

Director-at-Large
Dr. Zhiming Liu
Eastern New Mexico University
January 2022-December 2024
director1@nmas.org

 

Appointed Members

Director, Junior Academy of Science
SWARM, AAAS, NAAS Delegate
Lynn Brandvold
NM Bureau of Geology & Mineral Resources (Retired)
nmjas@nmas.org

Director, NMAS Education Awards
Lecture Committee, NMMNHS Museum Liaison
Jayne Aubele
NM Museum of Natural History & Science
education@nmas.org

Liaison for NMHU
Dr. Rod Rock
New Mexico Highlands University
nmhu-rep@nmas.org

Liaison for NMSU
Dr. Cecilia Hernandez
New Mexico State University
nmsu-rep@nmas.org

Publications

New Mexico Journal of Science – Editor
Vladislav Sevostianov
Princeton University
journal@nmas.org

NMAS Newsletter – Editor
Open
newsletter@nmas.org

Website – Editor
Ellen Loehman
Science Educator (Retired)
webmaster@nmas.org

Directors Emerti

David Duggan
Sandia National Laboratories

Dr. David Hsi
New Mexico State University
Professor Emeritus, Plant Pathology

Harry Pomeroy
Clovis Municipal Schools (Retired)

Mona Pomeroy
Clovis Municipal Schools (Retired)

Dr. Maureen Romine
New Mexico Highlands University